11 réponses à ce sujet

#1 bodsham

bodsham

Nouveau

• Membres
  • Pip
  • 7 messages

Posté 11 février 2006 - 12:01

Forgive a really basic question but I'm new to video and trying to understand the best way to store and catalogue it. There's one thing I still don't understand about iDive. When you import video is this in order to store it inside iDive? Or is iDive a catalogue for external video files? I want to import/store MPEG 2 and retain the original quality, and wondered what the best way to do that was.

#2 adesir

adesir

Administrateur

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4 354 messages
  • Interests:Sobriété, efficacité, renouvelable !
  • Mac : iMac 5K 2017
  • Version OS X : 10.14

Posté 11 février 2006 - 20:55

Welcome on board,

Yes, iDive is a cataloging app. It's designed to catalog external videos with periodic thumbnails. From the beginning, iDive is able to import DV from miniDV camcorders and is now able to catalog MPEG2 files.
IMHO, iDive is not a video storage app, but a very afficient way to manage and retrieve your existing videos.

Where your MPEG2 videos come from?

Antoine

#3 bodsham

bodsham

Nouveau

• Membres
  • Pip
  • 7 messages

Posté 12 février 2006 - 15:29

Thanks for clearing that up. My video at the moment comprises stored clips. But I have ordered the new Panasonic SDSR100 which stored MPEG 2 to SD card. Unfortunately it's a little late turning up...
So if I produce an animation using iDive does it use the external files to generate the resulting clip, maximising quality, or whatever material it has itself?

#4 adesir

adesir

Administrateur

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4 354 messages

Posté 12 février 2006 - 17:30

iDive will extract pictures from your video, with settings (interval, compression, size) you will choose, in order to catalog the video. And it will use these picture to produce animations.